Arkansas Department of Education Background Check Fee Change, Consent Form, and Fingerprinting Requirements

Memo Information

Memo Number
LIC-17-011
Memo Date
9/14/2016
Memo Type
Administrative
Section
Educator Effectiveness & Licensure
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
NO
Attention
Superintendents; Principals; General Business Manager; Teachers

Primary Contact Information

Secondary Contact/s Information

Memo Text

National Criminal History Record Check/FBI Background Check Fee Change

 The Arkansas State Police notified the Arkansas Department of Education of national criminal history record check/FBI background check fee changes that will take effect on October 1, 2016. The fee changes are as follows:

  • Effective October 1, 2016, the cost for the national criminal history record check/FBI background check initiated online will be reduced from $15.75 to $13.00. The online background check system will be changed on October 1, 2016 to reflect the change in cost.
  • There is no change to the cost of the state background check.

 

Cost until September 30, 2016

Cost Effective October 1, 2016

$22.00 (state criminal history record check)

$22.00 (state criminal history record check)

$15.75 (national criminal history record check)

$13.00 (national criminal history record

$ 2.00 (online transaction fee)

$ 2.00 (online transaction

$39.75 TOTAL

$37.00 TOTAL

 

Initiation of State and Federal Background Checks Online

  • All Arkansas employers and individuals who initiate a criminal records check must initiate both the state and federal criminal records check online using the Arkansas State Police’s online system. (www.ar.gov/ADEbackground). Out-of-state applicants are also required to initiate the state and federal criminal records check online.
  • A school district that initiates the background check online must have a subscriber agreement with Information Network of Arkansas (INA) that covers both the state and federal background checks.  A school district may update their subscriber agreement by going online at www.ark.org/criminal/index.php

 

Fingerprints

  • Only out-of-state applicants and applicants who have received a notice of fingerprint rejection from the Arkansas State Police may have their fingerprints taken on an ADE approved fingerprint card. All other applicants should have their fingerprints taken by electronic livescan fingerprinting.
  • Unless an applicant has received a notice of fingerprint rejection and instructions to take inked fingerprints from the Arkansas State Police, school districts and third party vendors should not send the applicant to a law enforcement office for fingerprinting.
  • Applicants who receive a notice of fingerprint rejection should follow all instructions provided by the Arkansas State Police and must have their fingerprints taken on an ADE approved fingerprint card. To obtain an ADE approved fingerprint card, please contact:

Clara Toney

Department of Education/Educator Licensure Unit

Program Advisor

Four State Capitol Mall # 106B

P.O. Box 20

Little Rock, AR  72201

Telephone: (501) 682-4342

Clara.Toney@arkansas.gov

 

  • Please note that ADE approved fingerprint cards must only be used to complete ADE background checks for licensure or employment in an Arkansas public school. ADE fingerprint cards should not be used to complete background checks required by other entities or state agencies.

 

Changes to ADE Background Check Consent/ Fingerprinting Request Form

     The ADE Background Check Consent/Fingerprinting Request Form has been modified to:

  • Show both the current and future cost of the national criminal history record check/FBI background check.

     

  • Reiterate that Arkansas employers, in-state applicants, and out-of-state applicants are required to initiate both the state and federal background check online.

     

  • Remove the notary acknowledgement section.  

Print Memo

Share this memo