Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Arkansas' P-12 Cyber Threat Response Team

Memo Information

Memo Number
RT-20-007
Memo Date
10/15/2019
Memo Type
Informational
Unit
Research & Technology
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
NO
Attention
Federal Programs; Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals; Technology Coordinators; Test Coordinators; General Business Managers; Bookkeepers; Child Nutrition Directors/Managers; Data Stewards (SIS; eSchool; eFinance; TRIAND)

Primary Contact Information

Memo Reference

No references available.

Memo Text

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) is excited to announce Arkansas’ first P-12 Cyber Threat Response Team! This team represents a collaborative effort among Arkansas Cooperative Technology Coordinators, Arkansas Team Digital, and the Arkansas Division of Information Systems (DIS). The Cyber Threat Response Team is a small group of IT professionals who are willing and ready to provide onsite support, at no cost to the school district, whenever an Arkansas school district is faced with a cyber threat. 


Any school district facing a cyber threat can activate the Cyber Threat Response Team by contacting their local DIS Field Technician or Co-op Technology Coordinator. Upon request, the Cyber Threat Response Team will send our Cyber Threat First Responders to help isolate the incident, assess the damage, recover network/data/systems when possible, and implement prevention strategies. 

 

P-12 Cyber Threat First Responders

Leon Brown (lbrown@crmail.k12.ar.us

Tim Vent (tvent@greatrivers.net

Alan Floyd (alan.floyd@northcentralcoop.org

Sam Karnatz (skarnatz@starfishnw.org

Nathan Cline (ncline@oursc.k12.ar.us

Allen Dunn (allen.dunn@searkcoop.com

Jonathan Miller (jmiller@wilbur.k12.ar.us

Evan Patrick (evan.patrick@teamdigital.org


It is the request of DESE and the P-12 Cyber Threat Response Team that each school district communicates with their DIS Field Technician or Co-op Technology Coordinator any time they are experiencing a cyber attack (regardless if onsite support is needed). It is important that we all communicate to better protect one another. Information collected through the P-12 Cyber Threat Response Team will only be used to inform and protect Arkansas school districts. No school district should feel alone when facing a cyber attack. 


Attachments

No attachments available

Print Memo

Share this memo