Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Background Check Guidance for Covid-19

Memo Information

Memo Number
LIC-20-036
Memo Date
4/7/2020
Memo Type
Informational
Unit
Educator Effectiveness & Licensure
Regulatory Authority
6-17-410 (b)(1) Licensed 6-17-414 (c) Classified
Response Required
NO
Attention
Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals

Primary Contact Information

Secondary Contact/s Information

Memo Reference

No references available.

Memo Text

This memo will provide guidance regarding Arkansas’s background check process for certified and classified employees, as well as new hires.

 Currently, non-medical related fingerprinting services have been suspended until further notice due to COVID-19.  While the fingerprinting process has been suspended at this time, individuals may complete other steps in the background check process, which include:

  •   Completing an Online Background Check Consent Form
  • Making the Background Check Payment
  • Finalizing the Arkansas Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check

 

The Arkansas State Police (ASP), in collaboration with the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) will allow flexibility on the 14-day requirement to have fingerprints taken.  This will allow individuals up to 180 days to present the transaction I.D. and complete the fingerprinting process.Background checks will still need to be initiated. Background check must be initiated.

 

The state board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of provisional eligibility for licensure pending the results of the criminal records check and the Child Maltreatment Central Registry check for licensed employees if the online consent and child maltreatment checks are clear.  School districts may allow provisional employment pending the results of the background checks for classified employees.

Initiate the background check process using this link: http://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/divisions/educator%20effectiveness/educator-licensure/background-checks    

 

Related Statute: 

6-17-410 (b)(1) Licensed 

6-17-414 (c) Classified

Additional clarification or questions, contact the number included in this memo or email ade.educatorlicensure@arkansas.gov

 

Attachments

No attachments available

Print Memo

Share this memo